Thank You for attending the PRISA AGM


Thank You for attending the PRISA AGM

On Tuesday, 29th September 2020, the Public Relations Institute of Southern Africa (PRISA) held its 63rd Annual General Meeting (AGM). The meeting was a Hybrid event with members online via Zoom and board members in physical attendance at the Little Tuscany Boutique Hotel, Bryanston, Johannesburg.

The event was attended by 69 guests made up of PRISA members from South African provinces, Namibia, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho and Mozambique. A highlight was Sylvia Aarts, a Romanian, passionate practitioner and proud member of PRISA who connected from the United Emirates.

The AGM provided attendees with an opportunity to not only listen to annual reports but learn more about PRISA strategic objectives and a wide range of services at members’ disposal.

Among the attendees were special guests viz. the PRISA President Gold Award recipient Prof. Glenda Gray; Services SETA Executive Manager Mr. Sibusiso Dhladhla – Executive Manager Planning; Ms. Helena Minnie – accountant and welcome the newly qualified Accredited Public Relations practitioners (APR)’s viz. Ms. Thulisile Phiri, Victor Moreriane and Lynn Erasmus.

During the AGM Victor Sibeko presented the CEO report covering administration, operations, strategic stakeholder relationship and regional structure revised strategies and future plans.

Dr. Dalien Rene Benecke delivered her 2019/2020 president’s report giving highlight of milestones and thereafter presented the PRISA President’s Award to Prof. Gray.

The moment members have been waiting for prevailed when Dr. Benecke passed the chain of office and ushered the new PRISA 2020/2021 president Ms. Kesagee Nayager. New president Ms. Kesagee Nayager also delivered her acceptance speech highlighting new strategic intents to further grow and position PRISA favorably which was well received.

The new PRISA presidential race changes with Dr. Benecke now becoming immediate past president, Mr. Tebogo Ditshego assuming the position of President Elect and welcoming on board the newly elected Vice President Mr. Gert Klopper.

Making the presidential leadership changes Sibeko expressed his delight in the interest and participation of PRISA members in this year’s election. A total of 60 votes were received making the race tight between the top three candidates. The top three candidates were Mr. Gert Klopper with 20 votes, Mr. Teboho Ntsabiseng 16 votes and Ms. Thanyani Muthakhaki 11 votes.

After the AGM presentations, awards and inauguration a Question & Answers session was facilitated marked with enthusiasm, positive comments. On behalf of PRISA Board, Management and staff we would like to extend our sincere gratitude to all those who attended. Thanks to everyone who participated during the AGM.