PRISA Botswana Hosts a Successful AGM and Elects a New Committee


PRISA Botswana Hosts a Successful AGM and Elects a New Committee

The Public Relations Institute of Southern Africa (PRISA) Botswana held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Thursday 8th July 2021. The meeting was hosted virtually via Zoom.

The AGM was graced by the PRISA President Mr Tebogo Ditshego who delivered words of encouragement and pledged support for the PRISA Botswana team. He also highlighted the key strategic vision and PRISA’s support and adoption of the Barcelona Principles of Communication Practice and Standards. The President highlighted the collaborative initiatives PRISA has embarked on, such as establishing structures to support consultancies and an envisaged invitation to CEO’s of member organisations to become part of the PRISA advisory body.  He also emphasised the importance of collaborating with tertiary education providers to encourage participation of students and influence on curriculum development to strengthen the profession to make students competitive upon completion of their qualifications.

One of the key transformations for PRISA that he proudly mentioned is the initiative to make the PRISA PRISM Awards inclusive for all members across African countries to cater for various sectors of the economy. He also encouraged members to remain vigilant and traverse through the impact of COVID-19 on the profession, to rise above the challenges and emerge victorious in implementation of the PRISA mandate and to grow the profession.

Mr Victor Sibeko, the PRISA Chief Executive Officer commended PRISA Botswana for establishing strategic collaborative partnerships with various critical stakeholders and for progress made to date in preparation for PRISA Botswana registration. He encouraged the committee to ensure completion of the registration and to establish more strategic partnerships. He also pledged his support for PRISA Botswana through mobilisation of resources and implementation of their activity plan.

The CEO emphasised the need to apprise members of the PRISA value proposition, benefits and opportunities for collaboration with industry. He highlighted the importance of members’ participation as this will enable them to identify opportunities for career progression through serving in various public relations Board Committees from PRISA to APRA, IPRA and even Global Alliance and beyond. He also encouraged the PRISA Botswana members to leverage on opportunities to identify industry practitioners to train and accredit as facilitators to impart knowledge and skills for upcoming practitioners as well as provide Continuous Professional Development.

The newly elected PRISA Botswana Committee is led by Mrs Mpho Victoria Mokgosi who will serve as the Chairperson, Mr Kenneth Mojiwa as the Vice Chairperson, Ms Bontle Lesiapeto as Secretary. Vice Secretary is Mr Lebotsang Mohutsiwa and Ms Bedu Tlhabologang retained her role as the Treasurer. Additional committee members  as Ex-Officio include Ms Lilian Mogami, Mr Alan Ranthepha, Mr Itumeleng and Mr Charles Keikotlhae the outgoing Chairperson.

The new Committee is tasked with registering PRISA Botswana legally, to establish the governance structure and operationalise their mandate to grow membership within Botswana, to increase participation of various stakeholders to professionalise the Communications and Public Relations practice and to endorse best practices of the profession within the country.

The PRISA Botswana outgoing Committee was led by the now Ex-Officio former Chairperson Mr Charles Keikotlhae, supported by the Ex-Officio Mrs Faith Tuelo. Other members of the Executive Committee included Ms Mpho Victoria Mokgosi who served as the Vice Chairperson, Ms Bedu Tlhabologang and Mr Mmilili M. Kenneth as Treasurer and Secretary General respectively. Ms Lillian Mogami, Ms Beulah Mapitse, Mr Alan Ranthepa, Ms Oreeditse B. Lesiapeto, Ms Oneh Golding, Mr Onkgopotse Moreri, Mr Lebotsang Mohutsiwa, Mr Ofe A. Motiki and Ms Mareledi Seabe are members of the Executive Committee.

We thank them for their commitment and enormous contribution to raise awareness about PRISA and their achievements in creating strategic partners with various stakeholders in the industry. We wish them the best and trust that they will continue to support the new Committee and provide thought leadership.