APRA Inaugurates Advisory Group


APRA Inaugurates Advisory Group

The African Public Relations Association (APRA) has inaugurated an Advisory Group to work with the Executive Council Members to give the association a voice in the continent and across the globe.

APRA is the umbrella body for the practice of Public Relations in Africa with over 17 member national PR associations and 5 affiliations within Africa and across the globe.

The advisory group made up of academics and  professionals representing all regions in Africa include Mr. Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, a former Ambassador to the United States of America and Minister of Communications in Ghana who will serve as Honorary Counsel to the association and chairman of the APRA Advisory group representing West Africa Region.

Other members of the advisory group include: Mr. Victor Sibeko, Past President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Public Relations Institute of Southern Africa ( PRISA) representing Southern Africa; Dr. Wilfred Marube, President, Public Relations Society of Kenya (PRSK);  Mr. Henry Rugamba , Managing Partner, Songa Communications both representing East Africa; Mr. Kamal Taibi, Founder and CEO, Stratëus Group representing North Africa;  Dr. Michelle Mekeme, Senior Lecturer, Advanced School of Mass Communication ( ASMAC – State University of Yaounde) Cameroun representing Central Africa and Mr. Kwame Senou, Senior Vice President, Opinion & Public representing West Africa while Miss Taiye Tunkarimu will serve as Secretary to the Advisory Group.

The inauguration ceremony was conducted via zoom application where all members of the team officially met and pledged their allegiance to the association.

Vice President of APRA, Robyn de Villiers introduced the group members and commended them for voluntarily accepting to join council members in improving APRA’s relevance amongst key stakeholders in the continent and the globe.

In his statement, President of the association, Mr Yomi Badejo-Okusanya stated that he has trust in the capacity of the appointed persons and tasked the group to push the ‘One Africa’ agenda and come up with a plan to drive APRA’s engagement in governance and economy.

The Honorary Counsel in acceptance of the role stated “I am honoured to play a role in APRA and collaborate with other likeminded professionals in Africa. I pledge to work assiduously with all to achieve the goals of APRA”. While members of the group each gave a word to appreciate the association for taking the step to establish the group and pledged to serve it to the best of their abilities for the period of two years as indicated by the President.

Secretary General of APRA, Jane Gitau gave the vote of thanks and added that the Advisory Group further shows the inclusiveness we have always desired as an association.

Issued by APRA Coordinator and Advisory Group Secretary, Ms. Taiyu Tunkarimu

Email: | | Tel. +234817135093